PCNA Heart Failure Prevention Award


Submissions open July 1 and close December 3.

Overall support of this award is from a grant by Novartis. As part of PCNA’s compliance with The Physician Payments Sunshine Act, upon the funder’s request, PCNA is required to report awards paid to clinical professionals as part of this grant in the final grant reconciliation.

This award recognizes a registered or advanced practice nurse who has demonstrated an innovative, successful model of primary or secondary preventive care for patients with heart failure. The best practice model or research project should be culturally appropriate and relevant to a middle aged or geriatric population. 

Metrics/program outcomes may include one or more of the following:
  • Decrease in heart failure symptoms
  • Improved CV risk factors
  • Improved quality of life
  • Decreased hospital readmission rate 
  • Increased access to care
  • Improved skills, understanding of HF or support for caregivers
  • Patient satisfaction knowledge acquisition
  • Improved adherence Improvements in self care 

Eligibility Criteria

  • May self nominate 
  • A current member of PCNA 
  • PCNA must be listed on the applicant’s CV as one of their Professional Organizations 
  • Must attend the PCNA Annual Symposium and receive the award in person 
  • Must present the best practice model or research as a submitted abstract at the PCNA Annual Symposium for a poster or oral presentation 
The winner of this award cannot be considered for the award in the consecutive year. Projects and honorable mentions from previous years can reapply for the award.
Celeste Chavez Heart Failure Award 2018

Past Winners

  • Celeste Chavez, BSN, MSN, FNP-BC
  • Lynsey Mahlum, BSN, RN, ANP-C, CHFN
  • Julie Chester Wood, RN, MSN, CNS, CHFN
  • Kristin Dixon, PhD(c), RN, ACNS-BC, CHFN, PCCN
  • Mary Loise Osevala, MSN, CNS, ANP-BC


The PCNA Nominating & Awards Committee will select the winner based on the creativity and innovation of the program and the above listed metrics/program outcomes.


The winner will be recognized at the Awards Ceremony at the PCNA Annual Symposium with a PCNA Heart Failure Award Plaque. In addition, the winner will receive complimentary symposium registration, air or auto travel expenses and 3-night hotel stay to attend the symposium

Required Materials

  1. A current curriculum vitae
  2. Two letters of support from health professionals supporting the importance of the submitted best practice model or research. The letters must address the applicant with regards to their work being submitted for this award. 
  3. A testimonial or letter of support from a program participant. 

For Questions

Please contact the Program Assistant at 608-442-3448 or at rbaldwin@pcna.net.